Databases

This is a collection of online resources with access restricted to the Campbell University community unless otherwise specified.

Use OneSearch to search multiple databases simultaneously.




-- A --

ABC-CLIO E-book Collection via ABC-CLIO (Full Text)
The ABC-CLIO E-book Collection includes the series Daily Life Through History, Critical Companions to Popular Contemporary Authors, Historic Events of the 20th Century, Literature in Context, as well as American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography.
ABI/INFORM Complete (Full Text)
ABI/INFORM Complete™ offers nearly 3,900 full-text titles covering business and economic conditions, corporate strategies, management techniques, as well as competitive and product information.
Academic Search Complete via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,400 journals.
Online Tutorial
AccessMedicine via McGraw-Hill (Full Text)
AccessMedicine provides access to more than 75 medical titles from McGraw-Hill, with regularly updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, diagnostic and point-of-care tools, a comprehensive search platform, and the ability to view from and download content to a mobile device.
AccessPharmacy via McGraw-Hill (Full Text)
AccessPharmacy allows users to select a core curriculum topic, browse by organ system, review textbooks, search across leading pharmacy online references and view optimized content on a mobile device.
AccessPhysiotherapy via McGraw-Hill (Full Text)
AccessPhysiotherapy provides access to resources for physical therapy students, educators, and those in practice seeking to maintain certification.
Advertising Red Books
For over 100 years the Advertising Red Books have been the most comprehensive source of information on the advertising practices of companies located in the United States, Canada, and around the world. Research Agencies, Brands, Public Relations Firms, and Advertisers (including in-house shops).
Online Tutorial
African-American Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey (Full Text)
Nearly 3,000 poems written by African-American poets in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.
Coverage: Indexed from 1750 to 1900
AMA Manual of Style (Full Text)
Online version of the AMA Manual of Style.
Limited number of concurrent access.
American Chemical Society Web Editions (Full Text)
The American Chemical Society is a major publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences. ACS Web Editions provide online access to over 30 ACS publications.
American Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey (Full Text)
Over 40,000 poems by more than 200 American poets from the Colonial Period to the early twentieth century.
Coverage: Indexed from 1600 to 1900
American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography via Greenwood (Full Text)
A collection of the life histories of former slaves in the United States compiled through nearly 4,000 interviews with ex-slaves.
Anatomy & Physiology Online via Ovid
Anatomy and Physiology Online includes 20 modules on the human body with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body systems, pronunciation guide, and quizzes. This online resource is designed to cover materials for a two-semester Anatomy & Physiology course.
Limited number of concurrent access. Try again later if access is denied.
Anatomy.TV via Ovid
Anatomy.TV provides a comprehensive interactive diagram package for anatomy-based courses. The resource includes nine anatomical region modules each containing 3D views, clinical text, dissection slides and videos, MRI correlations, biomechanics animations, and self-quizzes. In addition, a large set of Sports Therapies, Surgery, Dentistry, Radiology, and other modules are available.
Limited number of concurrent access. Try again later if access is denied.
Annual Reviews of Biomedical Sciences (Full Text)
Annual Reviews publishes authoritative, analytic reviews in 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.
ArchiveGrid via OCLC FirstSearch
ArchiveGrid provides online access to nearly a million descriptions of archival collections held by thousands of libraries, museums, historical societies and archives worldwide. Features detailed, archival collection descriptions written by archivists, a powerful search engine, & a user friendly interface.
Art & Architecture Complete via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Magazines, journals, trade publications and books covering a variety of art and architecture subjects including antiques, art and art history, interior and landscape design, and more. Includes image collection of over 63,000 images.
ArticleFirst via OCLC FirstSearch
Contains bibliographic citations describing items listed on the table of contents pages of more than 13,000 journals in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture. Updated daily.
Associations Unlimited U.S. National via Thomson Gale (Full Text)
Contains information for approximately 22,500 U.S. national nonprofit membership organizations in all fields.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials combines the premier index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion with ATLA's online collection of major religion and theology journals. The ATLA Religion Database includes more than 575,000 article citations from more than 1,679 journals (506 currently indexed), more than 239,000 essay citations from over 16,800 multi-author works, and more than 530,000 book review citations. Full text is provided for more than 294,000 electronic articles and book reviews.
Online Tutorial
Auto Repair Reference Center via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Drawings, step-by-step photographs, wiring diagrams, technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the manufactures for thousands of vehicles.

-- B --

Barron's Newspaper (Digital Microfilm) via ProQuest (Full Text)
Digital microfilm for Barron's newspaper.
Coverage: 2008-present
Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination
Now in its Fifth Edition, Bates’ Visual Guide delivers head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques for the (Advanced) Assessment or Introduction to Clinical Medicine course. The site features more than 8 hours of video content.
BBC Shakespeare Plays via Ambrose Video Publishing
Streaming video of full length classic dramatic performances of 37 Shakespeare plays produced by BBC and Time-Life films.
Subscription expires December 31, 2016.
Bills from the NC General Assembly (Full Text)
Current and historical bills from the NC General Assembly. Search by attribute, bill number, chamber, committee, and more.
Biography Reference Center via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
More than 450,000 biographies, including actors, authors, explorers, historical figures, inventors, musicians, Presidents of the United States, scientists and many others.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Designed for doctors, research scientists, students, clinical specialists and managers, this database provides nearly 900 full text journals, including nearly 850 peer-reviewed publications, covering virtually all areas of medical study. Journals available in full text in Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive Edition are indexed in MEDLINE.
Blackwell Synergy (Full Text)
Blackwell Synergy holds the content for most of Blackwell's journals.
Books in Print via Bowker (Full Text)
Professional bibliographic database with five million in-print, out-of-print, forthcoming, audio book, and video titles. Many full-text reviews included.
Business ServiCenter
Programs and resources that are designed to improve the profitability of companies.
Business Source Complete via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Full text coverage in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes market research reports, industry reports, country reports, company profiles and SWOT analyses. Full text for more than 8,800 serials back to 1965 and searchable cited references back as far as 1998.

-- C --

CAMIO via OCLC CAMIO
Provides rights-cleared, high-quality art images for class projects, art history and studio art programs, course Web sites, lectures, presentations, and research resources.
Career Library via EBSCOhost
Career and job descriptions, to helps match interests to occupations and education prospects.
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Resources about diseases, conditions and other special topics, with health immunizations and recommendations for travelers worldwide.
Chadwyck-Healey (Full Text)
Collection of 21 literary databases.
Chronicle of Higher Education, The (Full Text)
The Chronicle of Higher Education is the No. 1 source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
CINAHL with Full Text via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
This database covers nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, consumer health, and 17 allied health disciplines, and contains indexing for 2,717 nursing journals and publications dating back to 1982,including indexing for journals, books and book chapters, dissertations, selected conference proceedings, standards of practice, pamphlets, educational software packages and audiovisual material. Full text for over 300 journals is provided.
ClasePeriodica via OCLC FirstSearch
Indexes over 2,600 Latin American scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities, science, and technology. The journals are published in Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English. Covers articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, conference proceedings, technical reports, interviews, and brief notes. Updated quarterly with coverage back to 1/1/1975.
Online Tutorial
Coverage: 1/1/1975 through present
Clinical Pharmacology 2000 (Full Text)
Clinical Pharmacology 2000 is designed to provide timely, concise drug information and clinical reports for medical professionals and health care consumers.
Restricted access to College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences and School of Osteopathic Medicine only
ClinicalKey via Elsevier (Full Text)
Upgraded and expanded from MD Consult, this point-of-care research and "clinical insight engine" contains hundreds of Elsevier's medical books, textbooks and very current journals, Procedures Consult's procedural videos, the First Consult POC interface, additional videos and images, practice guidelines, patient handouts, and drug information from Gold Standard.
Cochrane Library via Wiley Online Library (Full Text)
The Cochrane Library contains independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. It includes evidence from Cochrane and other systematic reviews, clinical trials, and more.
Restricted access to College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences and School of Osteopathic Medicine only
Communication & Mass Media Complete via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
This database offers cover-to-cover (“core”) indexing and abstracts for more than 570 journals, and selected (“priority”) coverage of nearly 200 more, for a combined coverage of more than 770 titles. Furthermore, this database includes full text for over 450 journals.
Company Profiles via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
With 10,000 company profiles, Datamonitor assesses the most important global companies, ensuring a balance between the US, European and Asian companies as well as the key vertical markets. Selected by a scoring system that takes into account: Stock exchange indices, investment bank coverage, key lists, annual turnover, and other minor factors including the number of employees, importance within the industry, future growth potential, and client feedback / customer demand for increased coverage.
Congressional Research Service Reports via UNT Libraries (Full Text)
Provides integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different Web sites since 1990.
Consumer Health Complete via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Designed to support the information needs of patients, and to foster an overall understanding of health-related topics, CHC provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. This full text database covers topics such as aging, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, men & women's health, etc.
CQ Researcher Online via CQ Press (Full Text)
Comprehensive, non-biased reporting and analysis on issues shaping our world.
CQ Weekly (Full Text)
Complete source for expert coverage of the U.S. Congress: status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and back room maneuvering. Produced by the largest news team on Capitol Hill.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry & Physics via Taylor and Francis Group (Full Text)
This 94th Edition of the Handbook includes new tables and major updates and expansions. This online version presents the major tables of numerical data in the form of interactive tables.
Limited number of concurrent access. Try again later if access is denied.
Credo Reference (Full Text)
An online reference library that has over 350 titles from 60 different publishers.
Crime in North Carolina (Uniform Crime Report)
The Uniform Crime Reporting Program collects data on the age, race, and sex of persons arrested for all crimes except traffic violations.
Criminal Justice Abstracts via EBSCOhost
Criminal Justice Abstracts™, formerly produced by Sage Publications, includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to criminal justice and criminology. The increasing globalization of criminology is reflected in Criminal Justice Abstracts' coverage of hundreds of journals from around the world. Criminal Justice Abstracts contains more than 200,000 records selected from the most important sources within the discipline.

-- D --

D&B US Company Database via SimplyMap
Access detailed profiles on over 30 million U.S. businesses provided by Dunn and Bradstreet (D&B), the world's leading source of commercial information and insight on businesses. Add business points to your map or build tables to find the best place to locate a business, analyze the competition, or identify services. Also export the data to a spreadsheet for additional functionality.
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online via Gale Cengage Learning (Full Text)
Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres.
Digital Karl Barth Library via Alexander Street Press (Full Text)
In association with the Theologischer Verlag Zürich (TVZ) and Princeton Theological Seminary, Alexander Street Press is pleased to offer the first major online collection of Karl Barth's works. The current release features the English translation of Barth's magnum opus, The Church Dogmatics, in its entirety. The original German version, Die kirchliche Dogmatik, is also included as are the first 36 volumes of Barth's Gesamtausgabe, which includes hundreds of letters, sermons, lectures, conversations, and academic writings. These volumes are supplemented by seven additional German works that have not yet been published as part of the Gesamtausgabe and English translations of thirteen important texts by Barth. New content will be added on a quarterly basis.
Digital Microfilm (tm) via ProQuest (Full Text)
Digital microfilm for Barron's, New York Times, and News & Observer newspapers.
Coverage: 2008-present
Digital Theatre Plus
Digital Theatre Plus is a streaming video resource containing full theatrical productions in the Broadway Digital Archive as well as interviews and insights with actors, production workers, and technical team members.
DigitalNC
Explore the history and culture of North Carolina through original materials from cultural heritage repositories across the state.
Directory of Open Access Journals (Full Text)
Covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. There are now 1601 journals in the directory. Currently 400 journals are searchable at article level. As of today 73622 articles are included in the DOAJ service.
Drugs and Lactation Database (LactMed) (Full Text)
A peer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Among the data included are maternal and infant levels of drugs, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternate drugs to consider.

-- E --

EBM Guidelines via Wiley Online Library (Full Text)
EBM Guidelines contains 1000 concise primary care practice guidelines covering a wide range of medical conditions. Both diagnosis and treatment are included. It also includes range of medical conditions. Both diagnosis and treatment are included. It also includes over 2,700 high-quality evidence summaries, a library of 900 high-quality photographs and images of all common and many rare dermatological conditions, electrocardiograms and eye pictures, and al reviews from The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews cited within EBM Guidelines are provided in full text.
Online Tutorial
Restricted access to College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences and School of Osteopathic Medicine only
Ebook Library
Ebook Library (EBL) is another platform providing access to more than 12,000 ebook titles published after 2012. You can read books online without any plugins. If you wish to view books in PDF mode, copy or print, you will need Adobe Reader installed. For downloading EBL ebooks, Adobe Digital Editions is required.
ebrary (Full Text)
An e-book collection of over 47,000 titles in multidisciplinary areas.
EBSCO eBook Collection via EBSCO (Full Text)
This collection has more than 100,000 ebook titles in various subject areas.
EBSCOhost
Gateway to all EBSCOhost databases.
EconLit via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
This database contains more than 1.1 million records covering 1886-present.
Economic Development Information System
Statistical, analytical and mapping tool designed to aid economic and community development decision making.
Economist Historical Archive via Gale (Full Text)
The Economist Historical Archive ('EHA') is the fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist, the weekly paper which is essential reading for anyone engaged in politics, current affairs and all aspects of business and trade worldwide. Containing every issue since its launch in 1843 and more than 600,000 pages, EHA offers full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys.
Coverage: 1843 - 2006
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (Law Module) via Gale Cengage Learning (Full Text)
This database contains the digital images of every page of 150,000 books related to law published during the 18th Century, with full-text searching of approximately 26 million pages.
Ejournals in Education via AERA SIG Communication of Research (Full Text)
Included only links to electronic journals in the field of education that are scholarly, peer-reviewed, full text and accessible without cost.
Encyclopedia Britannica (Full Text)
Encyclopedia Britannica full text. Includes Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary and Collegiate Thesaurus.
English Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey (Full Text)
Essentially the complete English poetic canon from 600 to 1900. Over 165,000 poems by more than 1,250 poets drawn from nearly 4,500 printed sources.
Coverage: Indexed from 600 to 1900
Entrepreneurial Studies Source via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Entrepreneurial Studies Source provides the latest insight into topics relevant to entrepreneurship and small business. This database offers users full text for more than 125 key periodicals, 135 reference books, case studies, thousands of company profiles and over 600 videos with transcripts and related articles from the Harvard Faculty Series and Vator.TV.
Environment Complete via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Environment Complete contains more than 2.4 million records from more than 2,200 domestic and international titles going back to 1888 (including over 1,350 active core titles) as well as more than 190 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 920 journals.
ERIC via ERIC Official Web Site
The Education Resources Information Center (ERIC), sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education, produces the world’s premier database of journal and non-journal education literature. The new ERIC online system, released September 2004, provides the public with a centralized ERIC Web site for searching the ERIC bibliographic database of more than 1.1 million citations going back to 1966. Effective October 1, more than 107,000 full-text non-journal documents (issued 1993-2004), previously available through fee-based services only, will be available for free.
ERIC via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Indexes ERIC documents (ED) and ERIC journals (EJ) from 1966. Many are in full-text since 1993. The Library has a collection of ERIC documents in microfiche filed by ED number. ERIC journals owned by the Library are found by the journal title.
Essential Evidence Plus via Wiley Online Library (Full Text)
A reference for clinical decision making, EE+ features over 13,000 topics, guidelines, abstracts, and summaries that cover the most common conditions, diseases, and procedures clinicians encounter. This clinical reference tool was designed for use by physicians, nurses, and other health care professionals on the frontline of patient care.
Online Tutorial

-- F --

Faber Poetry Library via Chadwyck-Healey (Full Text)
A collection of some of the most influential poets of the twentieth century. The Faber list includes Ted Hughes, Seamus Heaney, T. S. Eliot and Sylvia Plath covering the seventy year history of this major publishing house.
Facts and Comparisons E Answers
Facts and Comparisons E Answers allows access to a complete library of drug information references: Drug Facts and Comparisons®, Drug Interaction Facts™, Drug Interaction Facts™: Herbal Supplements and Food, MedFacts: Patient information, The Review of Natural Products, A to Z Drug Facts™, Nonprescription Drug Therapy™, Off-Label Drug Facts, and Drug Identifier.
Films on Demand
Over 7,000 full-length, streaming educational videos in many academic disciplines.
Online Tutorial
Financial Times Historical Archive via Gale (Full Text)
The Financial Times Historical Archive, 1888-2007, is the complete searchable facsimile run of the world's most authoritative daily business newspaper. Every article and advertisement ever printed in the paper can be searched and browsed individually and page by page.
Coverage: 1888 - 2007
Flocabulary
Flocabulary is an online library of hundreds of songs, videos and activities for grades K-12 created by a team of educators and hip-hop artists.
Users will need to register from campus the first time they use this resource.
Free Medical Journals (Full Text)
Free and full-text of many important medical journals available online.
Funk and Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Updated annually, this database includes over 25,000 full text records, covering an array of subject areas.
Full text of over 25,000 subject entries in the encyclopedia.

-- G --

Gale Cross-Search via Gale Cengage Learning (Full Text)
Cross-search Gale's literature archive resources, including Dictionary of Literary Biography Complete Online and Literature Criticism Online.
Gale InfoTrac Newsstand via Gale (Full Text)
InfoTrac Newsstand includes full text access to the New York Times (1985-present) as well as many other resources including The Economist and USA Today. It also includes selective or full text coverage of several North Carolina newspapers.
Gale NewsVault via Gale (Full Text)
Gale NewsVault allows you to cross-search six newspaper databases: 19th Century U.S. Newspapers, Economist Historical Archive, Financial Times Historical Archive, Sunday Times Digital Archive, Times Digital Archive, and Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive.
Gale Virtual Reference Library (Full Text)
Provides respected authoritative essays on varied topics from numerous subject areas, all in E-Book reference title format.
Global Market Navigator via Mintel Group (Full Text)
Find or compare data about market size; market share and segmentation; compound annual growth rate (CAGR); or socio economic factors for a product or products by country or countries. Also, Global Market Navigator has a separate search to find or compare economic data by country or countries. Lots of forecasts, tables, charts, and graphs (data downloads directly into Excel, PowerPoint, Word, or PDF).
Go Ask Alice
Interactive health advice allows you to explore health information and ask questions on topics important to you.
Government Employee Telephone Directory
A searchable alphabetical listing and departmental directory are included.
GPO via OCLC FirstSearch
Provides citations to all types of U.S. government documents on any subject of interest to the government. Covers Congressional reports, hearings, debates, and records; judiciary materials; and documents issued by executive departments (Defense, State, Labor, Office of the President, etc.).
Coverage: Updated Monthly with coverage back to 1/1/1976.
GreenFILE via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Grove Music Online via Oxford Music Online (Full Text)
Grove Music Online is a comprehensive reference source for music, providing over 8,000 articles on composers, performers, conductors, instruments and notation, forms and genres, and individual works. It offers the full texts of The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, The New Grove Dictionary of Opera, The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz, as well as The Oxford Companion to Music and The Oxford Dictionary of Music.
Limited number of concurrent access. Try again later if access is denied.

-- H --

Haworth Press (Full Text)
E-journal subscriptions in social work and pharmacy, including the following journals:Child & Family Behavior Therapy, Journal of Gerontological Social Work, Journal of Pharmaceutical Marketing & Management, Journal of Teaching in Social Work,Social Work in Health Care, and Social Work With Groups.
Health News Daily via F-D-C Reports, Inc. (Full Text)
Health News Daily provides daily coverage of a broad spectrum of healthcare issues including prescription pharmaceuticals, medical devices and diagnostics, over-the-counter pharmaceuticals and dietary supplements, biomedical research, federal health policy, Medicare/Medicaid, technology reimbursement and cost containment. Special emphasis is placed on regulatory and legislative developments.
With searchable archives back to 1995
Health Source : Consumer Edition via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Provides abstracts and indexing for nearly 500 consumer health, nutrition and professional periodicals from 1984 to present. Includes many complete articles from over 200 periodicals, 17 books, and 1000 pamphlets from 1990 to present.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Provides more than 550 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Also featured are abstracts and indexing for over 500 journals. This product offering also includes USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient and Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
Healthfinder (Full Text)
A gateway consumer health information web site whose goal is "to improve consumer access to selected health information from government agencies, their many partner organizations, and other reliable sources that serve the public interest." A variety of menu lists on its home page link to online journals, medical dictionaries, minority health, as well as prevention and self-care. The developer/sponsor of this site is the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Department of Health and Human Services with other listed agencies.
HeinOnline (Full Text)
Offers comprehensive access to a full-text Law Journal Library, beginning with volume 1 through the most current issue, the Federal Register Library, the U.S. Supreme Court Library, International Treaties and Agreements Library, and other legal resources.
HeritageQuest via ProQuest
Treasury of American genealogical sources: unique primary sources, local and family histories, and finding aids. Includes historical census, PERSI, Revolutionary War records, and more.
History Vault via ProQuest (Full Text)
This database provides primary source materials from ProQuest's University Publications of America (UPA) Collection in a digital format. Researchers can access letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more from a single interface.
HIV InSite (Full Text)
A project of the University of California, San Francisco AIDS Research Institute. Designed as a gateway to in-depth information about particular aspects of HIV/AIDS, it provides numerous links to many authoritative sites.
Homeland Security Digital Library (Full Text)
The Homeland Security Digital Library is composed of homeland security related documents collected from a wide variety of sources. These include federal, state, tribal, and local government agencies, professional organizations, think tanks, academic institutions, and international governing bodies.
Hoover's
Business research platform allows you to search U.S. and international company listings by industry, size, & geography to create marketing plans, conduct competitive analysis, and raise funds.
HR Laws
HR Laws is the leading management information resource for Human Resources professionals and their counsel. HR Laws provides news, analysis, and advice for updating company policy, resolving conflict, and advising senior leadership.

-- I --

IBISWorld (Full Text)
IBISWorld publishes America's largest collection of Industry Market Research Reports. There are over 700 reports, written at the 5-digit level of NAICS: North American Industry Classification System. Each report, of 25-30 pages in length, is updated regularly, ensuring that they reflect the current state of an industry.
Online Tutorial
Image Quest via Encyclopaedia Britannica
Image Quest has nearly 3 million images from nearly 50 of the best collections in the world. All images in Image Quest are rights-cleared for non-commercial, educational use.
Image Search via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Search multiple EBSCO sources for images including charts, photos, maps and illustrations.
Index to Legal Periodicals Retrospective via H.W. Wilson Company
Indexes over 750 legal periodicals published in the United States, Canada, Great Britain, Ireland, Australia and New Zealand from the years 1918 through 1981. Annual surveys of the laws of a jurisdiction, annual surveys of the federal courts, yearbooks, annual institutes, and annual reviews of the work in a given field or on a given topic are also covered. This database also includes Index to Legal Periodicals Full-Text (1981-Present).
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts via Dialog
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) provides information on all phases of the development and use of drugs and on professional pharmaceutical practice.
International Political Science Abstracts via EBSCOhost
Includes current indexing and abstracts of the world's leading journals in political science. This database covers over 1,000 journals published from 1951 to the present.
Iowa Drug Information Service
The IDIS drug information database is a bibliographic indexing service for 200 premier English language medical and pharmaceutical journals.
Available only within the DIC

-- J --

JAMAevidence via McGraw-Hill (Full Text)
JAMAevidence helps clinical decision makers identify the best available evidence by providing guides to the systematic consideration of the validity, importance, and applicability of claims about the assessment of health problems and the outcomes of health care.
Job & Career Accelerator via LearningExpress
Create resumes and cover letters, learn interviewing techniques, and prepare for related exams. Access millions of job listings.
Job Openings
Job openings: NC state government jobs, America's Job Bank, and additional job search resources.
JSTOR (Full Text)
JSTOR is a collection of full text scholarly journals in the following subject areas: Area Studies, Arts, Business and Economics, Education, History, Humanities, Law, Medicine and Allied Health, Science and Mathematics, and Social Sciences. JSTOR Arts and Sciences III, IV, V, VI, VII, and VIII Collections have been added to our original collections of Arts and Sciences I and II. This latest purchase added the archives of over 1,300 journals to the library’s collection.
Online Tutorial

-- K --

Kids Search via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
For grades 3 and up. Search magazines, newspapers, and books on a variety of topics such as history, science, literature, and current events.
Online Tutorial
KidsHealth
Information about children from before birth through adolescence. Topics include: emotional development, nutrition, parenting, first aid, and infections.

-- L --

Lab Tests Online
Understand lab tests that are part of routine care, as well as diagnosis and treatment. Search by test, condition, or recommended screenings.
LearningExpress Library via LearningExpress
Practice tests and self-paced courses for students & adult learners. ASVAB, GED, GRE, SAT, resume and cover letter writing courses and more.
Online Tutorial
Legal Information Reference Center via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Contains hundreds of full-text publications and thousands of legal forms. The full-text legal reference books are provided through Nolo, the nation's oldest and most-respected provider of legal information for consumers and small businesses.
LegalTrac via Gale InfoTrac
LegalTrac provides indexing for approximately 875 titles including major law reviews, legal newspapers, bar association journals and international legal journals. LegalTrac also contains law-related articles from over 1,000 additional business and general interest titles.
Legislative Insight via Proquest (Full Text)
Congress produces a variety of publications as a bill moves through the legislative process on its way to becoming a law. A compilation of these full text primary source publications produces a legislative history that is valuable to a wide variety of researchers. Legislative histories enable users to trace the development of a public law from its early consideration to its enactment, including development that spans more than one Congress.
Lexicomp Online via Lexicomp (Full Text)
Provides information on drug information, geriatric dosage, natural products, poisoning & toxicology, recently approved medications, laboratory tests, infectious diseases, pediatric dosage, oncology drug information, drug images, drug interactions, diagnostic procedures, anesthesiology and critical care drug information, and nutrient depletion drug information.
LexisNexis Academic via LexisNexis (Full Text)
LexisNexis Academic provides searchable access to a comprehensive spectrum of full-text information from over 5,600 sources, selected to meet academic research needs.
Library, Information Science & Technology via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA) indexes more than 560 core journals, nearly 50 priority journals, and nearly 125 selective journals; plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.
Liebert Online via Mary Ann Liebert, Inc. (Full Text)
Liebert Online provides electronic access to Mary Ann Liebert, Inc. peer-reviewed journals in discipline areas of biomedical research/life sciences, biotechnology, clinical medicine/surgery, complimentary/alternative medicine, engineering/informatics, law, psychology, and public health/policy.
Literary Index via Gale Group
An index to Gale's literature series. A free service provided by the Gale Group.
Literary Reference Center Plus via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Articles and criticisms, including peer-reviewed, bios and interviews, novels, short stories, poems, and literary magazines.
Literature Criticism Online via Gale Cengage Learning (Full Text)
Literature Criticism Online includes Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Shakespearean Criticism, Literature Criticism from 1400-1800, Classical and Medieval Literature Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism, and Children's Literature Review.
Online Tutorial
Literature Online via ProQuest (Full Text)
A database of more than 300,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, plus biographies, bibliographies and key secondary sources.
Online Tutorial
LLMC Digital (Full Text)
The LLMC Digital collection, produced by the Law Library Microform Consortium, includes both historical and current legal literature and government documents in full-text.
LWW Total Access Collection via Ovid (Full Text)
The Lippincott Williams & Wilkins Total Access Collection is a collection of over 310 journals targeting a variety of medical information needs, including various specialties of medicine as well as nursing and bioscience.

-- M --

Making of Modern Law via Gale Cengage Learning (Full Text)
This database provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Full-text searching on more than 10 million pages provides researchers access to critical legal history in ways not previously possible.
Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926 via Gale Cengage Learning (Full Text)
Based on holdings of the law libraries of Harvard and Yale, and the Library of the Bar of the City of New York, the product offers online access to these important collections.
MAS Complete via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for more than 540 popular, high school magazines. MAS Complete also provides more than 440 full text reference books, 85,670 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags, color PDFs and expanded full text backfiles (back to 1975) for key magazines.
MasterFILE Complete via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
This multidisciplinary database provides full text for more than 2,000 general reference publications with full text information dating as far back as 1922. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Complete also contains full text for more than 1,000 reference books and over 164,400 primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps & flags.
MayoClinic.com (Full Text)
An excellent consumer source of information. Editors of the site include over 1,200 physicians, scientists, writers and educators at the Mayo Clinic, a non-profit institution with more than 100 years of history in patient care, medical research and education. The site is an extension of the Mayo Clinic commitment to provide health education to patients and the general public.
MD Consult via Elsevier (Full Text)
Please use ClinicalKey instead.
Upgraded and expanded from MD Consult, this point-of-care research and "clinical insight engine" contains hundreds of Elsevier's medical books, textbooks and very current journals, Procedures Consult's procedural videos, the First Consult POC interface, additional videos and images, practice guidelines, patient handouts, and drug information from Gold Standard.
Medical Letter, The (Full Text)
Includes the publications: The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics and Treatment Guidelines.
MEDLINEplus (Full Text)
MEDLINEplus has extensive information for health professionals and consumers from the National Institutes of Health and other trusted sources on hundreds of diseases and conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical encyclopedia and dictionaries, health information in Spanish, extensive information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
MedlinePlus Drugs & Supplements
Guide to prescription and over-the-counter medications, herbs, and supplements.
Medscape via WebMD (Full Text)
Free selected articles from a number of medical journals.
Require registration with the site.
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Mental Measurements Yearbook, produced by the Buros Institute at the University of Nebraska, provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. Designed for an audience ranging from novice test consumers to experienced professionals, the MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.
Online Tutorial
Merck Manual Home Edition
Explains disorders, their symptoms, how they're diagnosed, and how they can be prevented or treated.
Mergent Intellect
Allow users to research companies, develop mailing lists and perform market research on more than 85 million business listings.
Mergent Online (Full Text)
Detailed company information reported by over 35,000 U.S. and International firms.
Online Tutorial
MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series via MICROMEDEX (Full Text)
The MICROMEDEX Healthcare Series provides a wide range of databases tailored to meet the needs of healthcare professionals, including information related to drugs, acute care, toxicology, and patient education.
Middle Search Plus via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies and historical essays. Middle Search Plus also contains 84,774 biographies, 105,786 primary source documents, and a School Image Collection of photos, maps and flags.
Military & Government Collection via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database offers a thorough collection of military titles, trade publications, and news weeklies. Military & Government Collection includes abstracts and indexing for nearly 400 titles providing cover to cover full text for nearly 350. The database also includes full text for 245 pamphlets.
Mintel Reports via Mintel Group (Full Text)
Mintel offers a series of research reports covering the US and European marketplace. Each market research report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market.
Online Tutorial
MLA Directory of Periodicals via EBSCOhost
The MLA Directory of Periodicals offers detailed information on over 5,500 journals, with 4,400 currently indexed in the International Bibliography. The detailed entries include editorial contact information, as well as frequency, circulation, subscription prices and submission guidelines.
MLA International Bibliography via EBSCOhost
MLA International Bibliography offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association, the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920's and contains over 2.3 million citations from more than 4,400 journals & series and 1,000 book publishers. The indexed materials coverage is international and includes almost 60 titles from J-STOR’s language and literature collection as well as links to full text.
Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) via Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Full Text)
The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR) Series is prepared by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). The data in the weekly MMWR are provisional, based on weekly reports to CDC by state health departments. The reporting week concludes at close of business on Friday; compiled data on a national basis are officially released to the public on the succeeding Friday.
Morningstar
Morningstar is a source for information on stocks, mutual funds, variable annuities, closed-end funds, exchange–traded funds, separate accounts, and 529 college savings plans. With operations in 16 countries, the company currently tracks more than 100,000 investment offerings worldwide.
MyiLibrary via Ingram (Full Text)
Online books on a variety of topics including art, language learning, medical, health, history, and more.

-- N --

National Cancer Institute
Comprehensive descriptions of cancer research programs and clinical trials.
National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Complementary and alternative healing practices such as aromatherapy, accupuncture, and herbal medicine. Offers resources and pamphlets
National Guidelines Clearinghouse
Comprehensive database of evidence-based clinical practice guidelines and related documents. Structured summaries with links to full-text guidelines when available. A collaborative initiative by AHRQ, AMA, and AAHP.
National Institute of Mental Health
Symptoms, diagnosis, and treatment of various mental illnesses. Includes brochures, information sheets, reports, press releases, and fact sheets.
National Women's Health Information Center (Full Text)
A population specialty site for women. It is a relatively new gateway site of health information for consumers, health care professionals, researchers, and educators and is sponsored by the U.S. Public Health Service's Office on Women's Health. It provides access to a variety of women's federal resources in addition to those in the private sector. The stated goal of the site is "to help ensure a healthier future for all American women."
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database
Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database is made up of multiple evidence based monographs. The core database contains the detailed, evidence-based monographs on individual natural ingredients (e.g. glucosamine, echinacea, ets). There are currently almost 1,100 monographs on these individual natural ingredients.
Available only within the DIC
Natural Standard
Natural Standard was founded by clinicians and researchers to provide high quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies. This international multidisciplinary collaboration now includes contributors from more than 100 eminent academic institutions.
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library [NML] is the world's largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 70,377 CDs with more than 1,013,542 tracks. On average, 500 new CDs are added to the library every month.
Limited number of concurrent access. Try again later if access is denied.
NC Health Info
Online guide to quality health and medical information and local health services throughout North Carolina.
NC LIVE
Gateway to all NC LIVE databases.
NC LIVE Video Collection via NC LIVE
Online videos from PBS including Ken Burns', Masterpiece Theater, Scientific American, American Experience, and more.
Online Tutorial
NC Public Schools Statistical Profile
Selected statistical data from the NCDPI on students, personnel and finances.
NCPedia
Information about the state, its history, people, government, and educational institutions.
New Testament Abstracts via EBSCOhost
New Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and Boston College. The database is an indispensable research and bibliographic aid for scholars, librarians, clergy and students of the New Testament and its historical milieu. The database contains more than 44,000 article abstracts, 1,200 review abstracts, 16,500 book abstracts, and 50 software abstracts.
New York Times via ProQuest (Full Text)
Provides full text access to New York Times (1980-current), New York Times Magazine (1997-current), and New York Times Book Review (1997-current).
New York Times (Digital Microfilm) via ProQuest (Full Text)
Digital microfilm for New York Times newspaper.
Coverage: 2008-present
Newspaper Source Plus via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Provides abstracts and indexing 1995 to present for: The New York Times, Wall Street Journal (Eastern and Western editions), Christian Science Monitor and USA Today. Coverage includes everything except obituaries (exclusive of famous people), sports tables, ads/classifieds, stock prices, and weather. Includes many complete articles from the Christian Science Monitor from 1995 to present, and some complete articles from over 100 other U.S. newspapers.
NIH Senior Health
Aging-related health information for family members and friends seeking easy to understand online health information.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers via Gale (Full Text)
This database contains digital facsimile images of both full pages and clipped articles for hundreds of 19th century U.S. newspapers.
North American Women's Letters and Diaries via Alexander Street Press (Full Text)
Over 150,000 pages of published letters and diaries plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials depicting the personal experiences of hundreds of women.
Contains materials from Colonial times to 1950.
North Carolina Agricultural Statistics Service
Provides statistical information in table, map, and graph format on farm animals, crops, cash receipts, and weather.
North Carolina Curriculum
Specific DPI goals and objectives for classroom subjects and grade levels for North Carolina.
North Carolina Driver's Manual
Current DMV driver's manual in English and Spanish.
North Carolina Education Directory
Contains addresses and phone numbers of every NC public, federal, or charter school, all employees of the DPI, contact information for education organizations, associations, and educational material suppliers.
North Carolina General Assembly
Includes links to find representatives and senators for both the NCGA and the US Congress by county, district, and Zip code.
North Carolina Homepage
Provides comprehensive and online services for citizens, businesses, and state employees of North Carolina.
North Carolina Public Health
Information on health precautions, links to local health departments, how to get birth certificates.
North Carolina State Publications Collection (Full Text)
Informational brochures and pamphlets, reports (annual, biennial, statistical), serials (newsletters, checklists, magazines), handbooks, studies, and other information resources produced by state government.
North Carolina Teacher Academy
Links to Internet based resources for K-12 classroom teachers and educational sites recommended for students and parents.
North Carolina Troops, 1861-1865: A Roster via N.C. Department of Cultural Resources
This database contains entries for all men who served in North Carolina Civil War units and are listed in the series "North Carolina Troops 1861-1865: A Roster", published by the North Carolina Office of Archives and History.
NoveList via EBSCO NoveList (Full Text)
A readers' advisory service. Helps readers find new books based on books they've read or topics in which they are interested.
Includes many book reviews.
NoveList K-8 Plus via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
A readers' advisory service designed specifically for children in grades K-8.
Online Tutorials

-- O --

OAIster via OCLC FirstSearch
OAIster is a catalog of digital resources from a variety of contributors. Included in the collection: digitized books and articles, born-digital texts, audio files, images, movies, datasets, theses, technical reports, research papers, and image collections. OAIster currently provides access to 19,906,256 records from 1082 contributors and is updated quarterly.
OCLC FirstSearch
Via NC LIVE
OCLC FirstSearch
Old Testament Abstracts via EBSCOhost
Old Testament Abstracts Online is a product of a partnership between ATLA and the Catholic Biblical Association. The database features indexing and abstracts for journal articles, monographs, multi-author works, and software related to Old Testament studies. Topics covered include antiquities, archaeology, biblical theology, philology and much more.
OneClick Digital via Recorded Books
Downloadable audio books are available from this site. You will need to create a new personal account to download and transfer audiobooks.
OneSource via Infogroup
In-depth profile of international companies. Includes SWOT analysis, RIA Annual Statement Studies, easy navigation to Datamonitor Industry Profiles, and more.
Click the OneSource link on ReferenceUSA page.
OvidSP via Ovid (Full Text)
OvidSP provides access to the Lippincott Williams & Wilkins Total Access Collection, a collection of over 310 journals targeting a variety of medical information needs, including various specialties of medicine as well as nursing and bioscience. This collection is designed to support clinical researchers as well as students and professors.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) Online via Oxford University Press (Full Text)
The Oxford English Dictionary is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources, from classic literature and specialist periodicals to film scripts and cookery books.
Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History (Full Text)
The Oxford International Encyclopedia of Legal History is the first encyclopedia to provide both historical and contemporary comparisons of the world legal systems.
Oxford Journals via Oxford University Press (Full Text)
Over 200 academic and research journals covering a broad range of subject areas.

-- P --

Pharmaceutical Approvals Monthly via F-D-C Reports, Inc. (Full Text)
Pharmaceutical Approvals Monthly provides in-depth coverage of U.S. drug development and approval process, including behind-the-scenes analyses of FDA's approval decisions. This specialized monthly also provides extensive listings of pending applications at FDA and their user fee goals, as well as all of FDA's approval actions.
With searchable archives back to 2000
Pharmacist Letter
A subscription service for pharmacists to keep them up to date on new developments in drug therapy. The service consists of a monthly letter, plus Detail-Documents available 24 hours a day. Pharmacists receive very short concise updates and advice. The Detail-Documents provide in-depth coverage answering many specific questions related to each topic.
Available only within the DIC
Physiotherapy Evidence Database (PEDro)
PEDro is a free database of over 27,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. For each trial, review or guideline, PEDro provides the citation details and the abstract and a link to the full text, where possible. All trials on PEDro are independently assessed for quality. These quality ratings are used to quickly guide users to trials that are more likely to be valid and to contain sufficient information to guide clinical practice.
Pink Sheet, The via F-D-C Reports, Inc. (Full Text)
Founded in 1939, "The Pink Sheet" provides in-depth coverage of the prescription pharmaceutical industry. Known as "The Bible" to the prescription pharmaceutical industry, this specialized weekly publication covers regulatory activities of FDA, FTC and CMS; Congress; industry news, such as mergers and acquisitions, new product introductions and executive changes; and financial news, such as companies' sales and earning performance and stock activity. The publication covers research, manufacturing, distribution and the retail sector.
With searchable archives back to 1984
Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey (Full Text)
Collection of poetry databases.
Points of View via EBSCOhost
Provides students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. The database provides more than 280 topics, each with an overview (objective background/description), point (argument), counterpoint (opposing argument), and Critical Thinking Guide.
Primal Pictures (Anatomy.TV) via Ovid
Primal Pictures (Anatomy.TV) provides a comprehensive interactive diagram package for anatomy-based courses. The resource includes nine interactive 3D models of the Head and Neck, Spine, Shoulder, Hand, Thorax and Abdomen, Pelvis and Perineum, Hip, Knee, Foot and Ankle. The title also contains 3D cross sections with MRI correlations and detailed text linked to dissection slides, video clips and animations. Primal Pictures' interactive functions allow you to rotate any anatomical view 360°, add/remove layers of anatomy and label any visible structure. The extended edition offers new integrated lab activities for approximately 60 hours of self assessment, ensuring key concepts can be mastered in restricted lab hours.
Limited number of concurrent access. Try again later if access is denied.
Primary Search (Children's Magazines) via EBSCOhost
Primary Search provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles), and full text information dates as far back as 1990.
ProceedingsFirst via FirstSearch
Covers every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
Project MUSE via Johns Hopkins University Press (Full Text)
Project MUSE provides online, worldwide, institutional subscription access to the full text of over 100 scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics.
Online Tutorial
ProQuest Congressional (Full Text)
ProQuest Congressional is a major source of information about the members of Congress and their legislative activities and a primary resource for assessing the many publications of the U.S. Congress from 1969 to present. ProQuest Congressional provides coverage of Congressional publications including House and Senate Committee Reports, Committee Hearings, Committee Prints and Documents. ProQuest Congressional provides extensive legislative histories for acts passed from 1969 to present.
ProQuest Health Management (Full Text)
Comprehensive coverage of the healthcare industry including management, administration, regulations, policies, and planning. All journals are available full text, including all charts, diagrams, graphs, tables, photos, and other graphic elements so essential to research.
Online Tutorial
ProQuest Newspapers via ProQuest (Full Text)
Includes North Carolina Newsstand (Business North Carolina, Fayetteville Observer, Winston Salem Journal, Greensboro News & Record, News & Observer (Raleigh, N.C.)-limited coverage, and Wilmington Morning Star), Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and The Washington Post.
PsycARTICLES via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
PsycARTICLES®, from the American Psychological Association (APA), is a definitive source of full text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology. It contains more than 153,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association (APA), its imprint the Educational Publishing Foundation (EPF), and from allied organizations including the Canadian Psychological Association and the Hogrefe Publishing Group. It includes all journal articles, book reviews, letters to the editor, and errata from each journal. Coverage spans 1894 to the present and nearly all APA journals go back to Volume 1, Issue 1.
Online Tutorial
Psychological Experiments Online via Alexander Street
Psychological Experiments Online is a multimedia collection including videos and text that covers the most important psychological experiments of the 20th and 21st centuries. The collection pairs 75 hours of audio and video recordings of the original experiments (when existent) with 40,000 pages of primary-source documents including notes, letters, and articles.
PsycINFO via EBSCOhost
The PsycINFO®, database, American Psychological Association’s (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations, is the largest resource devoted to peer-reviewed literature in behavioral science and mental health. It contains over 3 million records and summaries dating as far back as the 1600s with one of the highest DOI matching rates in the publishing industry. Journal coverage, which spans from the 1800s to the present, includes international material selected from around 2,500 periodicals in dozens of languages.
Online Tutorial
PsycTESTS via EBSCOhost
International in scope, this resource from the American Psychological Association provides access to thousands of actual test instruments, most of which are available for immediate download and use in teaching and research. PsycTESTS is an authoritative source of structured information about tests of interest to a variety of fields, and while focused on contemporary instances of test use, has coverage that spans more than a century.
Online Tutorial
PubMed via National Library of Medicine
A service of the National Library of Medicine, PubMed provides access to over 11 million citations from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
PubMed Central via National Library of Medicine (Full Text)
An archive of life science journals including BMJ, Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, and others.

-- R --

ReferenceUSA via Infogroup
Searchable database with detailed information, including addresses and phone numbers, on more than 20 million businesses, 222 million consumers, U.S. new businesses, U.S. new homeowners and movers.
Regional Accounts Data - Local Area Personal Income
Personal income and population summary estimates, detailed county annual tables of income and employment, wage and salary summary estimates.
Regional Business News via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
Contains abstracts for 67 regional business publications, with full text for 52 of those titles.
RIA Checkpoint (Full Text)
Includes RIA Check Point Academic Advantage Library and RIA Estate Planning Complete. RIA Check Point Academic Advantage Library includes the U.S. Tax Reporter a comprehensive and up-to-date source of federal tax law, regulations, committee reports, cases, rulings, annotations, and explanations, and full coverage of federal income, estate & gift, excise and international taxes. RIA Estate Planning Complete is a professional estate tax service that consolidates all aspects of estate planning and administration, from development of the plan to administration and settlement of the final estate, with full text of supporting primary law documents.
RIM Online via ATLA
RIM Online is a freely available database that indexes D.Min. projects from reporting schools of theology accredited by the Association of Theological Schools in the United States and Canada. Indexing began in 1981.
Rosetta Stone Library Solution via EBSCOHost
Rosetta Stone provides learning support for 30 different languages, including lessons and activities that enable you to learn the basics of these languages on your own. The full list of languages is available here.
Creation of an account will be required to track your progress.

-- S --

Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 via Gale Cengage Learning (Full Text)
Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more. With over 6 million pages from 29,000 works, this collection is a cornerstone in the study of the western hemisphere.
SAGE Journals Online (Full Text)
SAGE provides access to over 600 journals in the social sciences, humanities, medicine, engineering, and physical and life sciences.
Online Tutorial
SAGE Open via Sage (Full Text)
SAGE Open is an open access publication from SAGE. It publishes peer-reviewed, original research and review articles in an interactive, open access format. Articles may span the full spectrum of the social and behavioral sciences and the humanities.
Salem History via Salem Press (Full Text)
Online searchable electronic version of the Decades Series.
Sanborn Maps North Carolina
Sanborn Maps for the state of North Carolina provides digital access to 11,173 large-scale maps of 158 North Carolina towns and cities. Users have the ability to easily manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and compare maps from different years.
Sanford Guide (Full Text)
Sanford Guide is a leading evidence-based clinical reference guide for diagnosis and treatment recommendations.
Science Reference Center via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. Designed for science students, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, and other sources. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Science Reference Center also provides teachers and librarians with articles correlated to state and national curriculum standards.
ScienceDirect College Edition via Elsevier Science (Full Text)
ScienceDirect is a full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books.
SciFinder via Chemical Abstracts Service
First time users will need to create a login. Logins can only be created from on campus.
SciFinder is a comprehensive tool for chemistry and chemistry-related research. This database includes extensive content: chemical structures and properties; reactions and syntheses; and a massive listing of scholarly journal and patent citations.
Online Tutorial
Scopus via Elsevier SciVerse
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature, featuring tools to track, analyze and visualize research. For peer-reviewed research published since 1995, Scopus delivers the most comprehensive overview of the world's research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Online Tutorial
Searchasaurus via EBSCO Publishing (Full Text)
Colorful and fun interface for elementary and middle school students.
Serials Directory via EBSCOhost
Provides up-to-date information and pricing for popular magazines and other serials. Contains listings for over 250,000 U.S. and international titles, including 8,000 newspapers. Also includes data on over 108,000 publishers worldwide.
Simmons LOCAL by Experian via SimplyMap
Over 60,000 data variables about the American Consumer; 8,000 brands across 460+ categories; over 600 psychographics; over 38 psychographic scales; geo-behavioral statistical models for local market analysis and mapping; measurement of media and content engagement; measures 209 DMA’s down to zip code level; emphasis on primary data collection and not ascription.
SimplyMap
SimplyMap enables users to create thematic maps and reports using demographic, business, and marketing data. Nation-wide data includes: population; age; race; income; ancestry; marital status; housing; employment; transportation; families; census data (including 1980, 1990, 2000, plus current year estimates and 5 year projections); consumer expenditure; consumer price index; quality of life & consumer profiles; business & employee counts by industry; EASI Market Segments & Life Stages; Mediamark Research's (MRI) Survey of the American Consumer; EASI, using MRI survey data, produces local estimates of usage and consumption (propensity) for thousands of specific and detailed products and services.
Small Business Reference Center via EBSCOhost
Offers a wide variety of information on small business and entrepreneurial subject areas, common business types, a help and advice section, and provides information on how to create business plans that lead to successful funding. Includes business lectures and ‘how to’ videos, as well as state-specific resources.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center via EBSCOhost
Detailed, user-friendly repair guides for all manner of small engines.
SPORTDiscus with Full Text via EBSCOhost
SPORTDiscus is a comprehensive index covering sport, physical fitness, exercise, sports medicine, physical education, kinesiology, coaching, training, sport administration, sport law & legislation, facility design & management, physical therapy, nutrition, exercise physiology, recreation, and a variety of related disciplines. Full Text is available for over 530 journals.
SpringerLink (Full Text)
SpringerLink is Springer's online full-text archive for journals and books. SpringerLink currently offers over 2,600 fully peer-reviewed journals and a growing roster of book series, comprising more than 46,700 books online.
Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology via Cambridge University Press (Full Text)
Stahl Online provides complete access to Stahl's Essential Psychopharmacology, a key reference work for understanding the effects of drugs on psychology. It also includes a number of companion resources including the Prescriber's Guide, Stahl's Illustrated Substance Abuse, and others.
Start Squad
Online resource geared toward the K-8 grades on topics such as art, North Carolina, sports, science, history, and more.
State Center for Health Statistics
Health-related research and reports and a collection of health statistics.
State Data Center
The site includes population, economic, and income data as well as county profiles and rankings.
State Demographics
Provides state, county, and municipal population estimates and projections by year, age, race, and sex.
Statistical Abstract of the United States via ProQuest
The online edition of the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.
Stratfor Global Intelligence (Full Text)
Stratfor is a leading geopolitical analysis and intelligence firm. The library provides access to Stratfor’s reports and predictions on topics such as international security, global politics, energy, and economics.
Student Research Center (SRC) via EBSCOhost
Magazines, newspapers, biographies, country reports, images, and encyclopedias on health, science, literature, current events, history, and more.
Sunday Times Digital Archive via Gale (Full Text)
The Sunday Times, published since 1822, is a rich complement to the Times (London) Digital Archive. See also Times Digital Archive.
Coverage: 1822 - 2006
Sylvius 4 Online via Sinauer
Sylvius 4 is an interactive atlas and visual glossary of human neuroanatomy, featuring annotated surface views of the human brain and interactive tools for dissecting the central nervous system, viewing annotated cross-sections of preserved specimens and living subjects imaged by magnetic resonance.
Limited number of concurrent access. Try again later if access is denied.

-- T --

Tan Sheet, The via F-D-C Reports, Inc. (Full Text)
Published weekly, "The Tan Sheet" provides in-depth news and analysis related to the nonprescription pharmaceutical and dietary supplement industries. The spectrum of coverage includes: Congress; regulatory activities of FDA, FTC and CPSC; self-regulatory agencies, such as the National Advertising Division of the Council for Better Business Bureaus; business and marketing news, such as Rx-to-OTC switches, product testing, new product introductions and advertising; mergers, acquisitions and executive changes; financial news, such as company stock performance and sales and earning reports; and regular listings of product trademarks.
With searchable archives back to 1993
Tax Forms via NC Department of Revenue
Downloadable versions of current North Carolina individual and corporate income, franchise, sales, and withholding tax forms.
Teacher Reference Center via EBSCOhost
This index of over 260 titles from the most popular teacher and adminstrator trade journals, periodicals, and books, provides coverage on key education topics such as Assessment, Continuing Education, Current Pedagogical Research, Curriculum Development, Instructional Media, Language Arts, Literacy Standards, Science & Mathematics, and more for K-12 Teachers & Librarians.
Teaching Positions in North Carolina
Links to the information needed to apply for a teaching job in North Carolina.
TeachingBooks.net
TeachingBooks.net is a database of multimedia materials about children's and young adult books, authors, and illustrators. Designed for teachers, it includes aids such as lesson plans and book discussion guides for almost every book being taught in the K-12 curriculum.
Online Tutorial
Tests in Print via EBSCOhost
Produced by the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements at the University of Nebraska, Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
Thieme E-Book Library (Full Text)
Online access to textbooks, atlases, and other aids for medical and health science studies. A full license would include unlimited downloads to e-readers, laptops, and other devices.
Times Digital Archive via Gale (Full Text)
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. The Times Digital Archive allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source. See also Sunday Times Digital Archive.
Coverage: 1785 - 2006
Times Literary Supplement Historical Archive via Gale (Full Text)
The complete online fully-searchable edition of the TLS from the first edition in 1902 onwards. This is the essential companion for studying and researching literary activity and critical opinion makers of the 20th and 21st centuries. Since 1902, the TLS has scrutinized, applauded and dissected the work of leading writers and thinkers, offering comprehensive coverage of the most important publications, in every subject, in several languages, as well as reviewing current theatre, cinema, music, and exhibitions.
Coverage: 1902 - 2006
TOPICsearch via EBSCOhost (Full Text)
A current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints. TOPICsearch contains full text for over 60,000 articles from 399 diverse sources including international and regional newspapers, EBSCO's collection of periodicals, biographies, public opinion polls, book reviews, pamphlets, and government information.
TOXNET
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
ToxSeek
A meta-search engine that enables simultaneous searching of many different information resources on the internet. The ToxSeek user interface allows selection of resources from a wide range of authoritative sources from NLM, NIH, CDC, WHO, and many other national and international government resources.
TV News Search & Borrow via Internet Archive
The collection now contains more than 350,000 news programs collected over 3 years from national U.S. networks and stations in San Francisco and Washington D.C. The archive is updated with new broadcasts 24 hours after they are aired. Older materials are also being added.
Twentieth Century African-American Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey (Full Text)
A collection of poetry written by the most important and influential African American poets of the twentieth century. Presently includes over 6,000 poems from over 100 complete editions by 46 poets.
Coverage: Indexed from 1901 to 1998
Twentieth Century American Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey (Full Text)
A database of modern and contemporary American poetry from the early twentieth century to the present. Presently includes 36,000 poems drawn from 460 volumes by 217 poets.
Twentieth-Century English Poetry via Chadwyck-Healey (Full Text)
Containing tens of thousands of works by 288 poets, Twentieth-Century English Poetry provides an overview of poetry written in the 20th century by both established and emerging writers.

-- U --

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs, 1832-1978 via Gale Cengage Learning (Full Text)
Containing nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978, this product provides an essential primary source tool for the study of all aspects of American history as well as the U.S. judicial system.
UpToDate (Full Text)
UpToDate is an electronic resource offering evidence-based, synthesized medical information quickly at the point of care. It is comprised of original topics that are written, reviewed and continually updated by a faculty of physician experts.
Restricted access to College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences and School of Osteopathic Medicine only

-- V --

Value Line
Provides online access to Value Line's leading informational and analytical publications covering stocks, mutual funds, options and convertible securities as well as special situation stocks.

-- W --

Wall Street Journal via ProQuest
Index of articles from 1981 to present.
Includes many complete articles from 1984 to present.
Wiley Online Library (Full Text)
Online editions of the majority of Wiley's 400+ scientific, technical, medical and professional journals.
Women's Health
Resource on women’s health topics: pregnancy, body image, HIV/AIDS, girls health, heart health, menopause, mental health, quitting smoking, and domestic violence.
WorldCat via FirstSearch
OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.
Online Tutorial